I’ve been all over the blogosphere lately – name your authority blog, and I’ve probably been on it; Copyblogger, Problogger, Think Traffic, Freelance Switch, DIY Themes, KISSmetrics, and about a dozen others, all in the last few weeks. (Some people have taken to calling me the “Freddy Krueger of Blogging” because wherever you turn, I’m there!) ;) And that’s on top of a major product launch on my own blog, my regular consulting work… and oh, yeah, planning my wedding, which is in just a few weeks. So yes, I’ve been busy. People are asking me how I find the time to get it all done – have I given up sleep? Do I have clones out there doing work on my behalf? Of course, the answer is no – but I do have a productivity secret that I learned from a cartoon character…

When it’s Okay to Run Off a Cliff

The cartoon in question, of course, is Bugs Bunny. But what does he have to do with running off a cliff? (And what does that have to do with productivity?) The answer is that when you’re a cartoon, running off a cliff is perfectly okay – it only becomes dangerous when you look down. This bit of cartoon comedy comes packed with an extra-large helping of wisdom and life lessons, if you know where to look. And yes – those life lessons are all about productivity and achievement.

What You Get is What You See

Most of us work under the assumption that what we get is what we see. In other words, stuff is out there, and that stuff dictates our reality: STUFF IS OUT THERE -> THAT’S OUR REALITY But the cartoon world works a little bit differently; yes, lots of stuff is out there, but only the stuff that the cartoon is aware of is part of its reality: STUFF IS OUT THERE -> YOU FOCUS ON SOME OF IT -> THAT’S THE REALITY As long as the cartoon is focusing on where they’re going, and isn’t worrying about all the obstructing details along the way, they can keep moving towards their goal. The funny thing is that the cartoons have got it right; the life lesson is in the fact that things work the same way for us that they do for them – our reality is determined by the things that we focus on, and allow in to our sphere of attention. The cartoons can all run off cliffs, because they focus on where they’re going, instead of the huge drop below them. But the cartoons all make the same mistake: they look down.

You Don’t Have To Look Down!

We all have that lingering temptation to look down. You know what I’m talking about – the little voices urging us to think about all the things that could go wrong, why you won’t be able to achieve your goals, and why you aren’t ready for this challenge. Sooner or later, most people listen to those voices, and start doubting whether they can really achieve what they’re trying to achieve. And then we start slowing down, and losing momentum. Before you know it, we’re standing still in mid-air, looking down at the drop below. And then we fall. And boy, do we ever fall! But it doesn’t have to be this way. The whole process can be avoided by not looking down!

Don’t Bury Your Head In the Sand, Either!

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not suggesting that you bury your head in the sand like an ostrich, and just ignore everything that comes your way. When the voices start whispering that you’re biting off more than you can chew, and this or that obstacle will stop you dead in its tracks, you really should give them a little bit of attention – hear them out, and ask yourself whether this new obstacle require an adjustment to your plans? If the answer is yes, then adjust as needed. If the answer is no, then keep on going. But either way, once you’ve heard them out and adjusted your plans if needed, tell them to shut up, and get back to work! It may sound simple, but that’s the whole secret behind my guest posting, marketing training program, wedding planning, upcoming books, and everything else I’m doing. I don’t listen to the voices, and I don’t look down – and the results speak for themselves! Hat tip to Jk Allen and Stuart Mills, who inspired this post!

The  What s Up Doc   Way of Getting Productive - 17